The National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA) under the Federal Ministry of Communication Technology, with its mandate of transforming Nigeria into an IT driven economy for global competitiveness and the dire need to bridge the digital divide has in 2010 established a Scholarship Scheme for Masters (MSc) and Doctorate (PhD) Degrees in relevant areas of Information Technology (IT) obtainable in Nigerian or Foreign/ Overseas Universities.


Scholarship Criteria

The scholarship award is strictly based on merit and covers equally the six geo-political zones for PhD and the 36 States and FCT for


The Masters programme will run for one year while the Doctorate programme is expected to run for three years.


MSc. All citizens of Nigeria with First Class or Second Class (Upper) Honours Bachelor’s Degree, (B.Sc) in Information Technology related field.

PhD: All citizens of Nigeria with MSc in any Information Technology related field are eligible for sponsorship.

Method of Application

All eligible candidates that are interested should log on to: to register.

Application Deadline: The registration period is from now till 24th October, 2012

A comprehensive Aptitude Test will be conducted to determine successful candidates for the award.

Only candidates who are found eligible will be invited.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s